Spring 2015 Auditions

Spring 2015 Audition information for Palomar Performing Arts programs, ensembles, and productions is below. Prospective Performing Arts majors are encouraged to make an appointment with a faculty advisor ASAP.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Music

Applied Music Program

Students are admitted by special audition January 16. Contact Kimberly Loya at kloya@palomar.edu or (760) 744-1150 x2316 to schedule audition.

Premier Chamber Ensembles

The purpose of this class is to recognize those students who have achieved a high level of musical performance, and who have demonstrated a readiness to participate in chamber music ensembles.  These ensembles will represent the department in various community outreach performances (e.g., presentations at high schools and Palomar Foundation functions). Interested students will file an application for participation. (Available immediately in the baskets in the hallway across from Dr. Weller’s office, D22.) The deadline to submit applications was December 5. For more information, please contact Kimberly Loya at kloya@palomar.edu or (760) 744-1150 x2316.

Palomar Chamber Singers

Enrollment subject to audition with emphasis on vocal ability and music reading; for voice majors, experienced choral singers, and instrumentalists wishing to improve musicianship through singing: Monday, January 12 at 12 pm in room D6. Contact Sally Dean at sdean@palomar.edu for further info.

Palomar Chorale

Enrollment subject to audition with emphasis on vocal ability and music reading; choral experience preferred: Wednesday, January 14 at 7 pm in room D5. Contact Sally Dean at sdean@palomar.edu for further info.

Palomar Guitar Ensembles

Enrollment subject to audition with emphasis on music reading: Tuesday, January 13 at 4 pm in D6. Contact Randy Pile at randypile@randypile.com for further info.

Palomar Symphony Orchestra

Enrollment subject to audition: Tuesday, January 13, at 7 pm in room D6. Contact Ellen Weller at eweller@palomar.edu or (760) 744-1150 x3949 for further info.

Palomar/Pacific Coast Concert Band

Enrollment subject to audition; woodwind, brass and percussion players with a minimum of two years high school level experience: Thursday, January 15, at 7 pm in room D6. Contact Ken Bell at kbell@palomar.edu or 760.390.2990 for further info.

Palomar Jazz!

Day Jazz Ensemble – Enrollment subject to audition with emphasis on ability to perform on one or more instruments and read music: Monday, January 12, at 4 pm in room D6. Contact Paul Kurokawa at pkurokawa@palomar.edu or (760) 744-1150 x2322 for further info.

Night Jazz Ensemble – Enrollment subject to audition: Monday, January 12, at 7 pm in room D6. Contact Paul Kurokawa at pkurokawa@palomar.edu or (760) 744-1150 x2322 for further info.

Palomar Brass Ensemble

Demonstrate ability to perform on one or more instruments and sight-read music: Tuesday, January 13, at 3:30 pm in room D10. Contact Paul Kurokawa at pkurokawa@palomar.edu for further info.

Palomar Spectrum Singers

Enrollment subject to audition: Tuesday, January 13, at 1:30 pm in D5. Contact Janet Hammer at janethammer@cox.net for further info.

Palomar Electronic Music Ensemble

Prerequisite:  A minimum grade of ‘C’ in MUS 103. Wednesday, January 14, 2:00 pm in D2. Contact Madelyn Byrne at mbyrne@palomar.edu or (760) 744-1150 x2809 for further info.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Theatre

There are no theatre auditions scheduled at this time.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Dance

There are no auditions required for dance classes. There is a misprint in the schedule for Mus/Dance 138: Cuban/Brazilian Drumming II; there will be no audition held for this class.

 

Last updated: January 2015